For An Annual Commitment Of Just $5 - Become An Individual Subscriber/Supporter Of
Subscriber Log In

Recent News

More news >>

President-Elect Biden Adds 27 Union Leaders To His Transition Team - 15 Agency Review Teams Include Union Officials

Published Thursday, November 12, 2020
by Kris LaGrange/UCOMM Blog
President-Elect Biden Adds 27 Union Leaders To His Transition Team - 15 Agency Review Teams Include Union Officials

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - With Democrat Joe Biden elected President, the process of transitioning from Republican President Donald Trump to a new Biden Administration has begun - even without the help of Trump or the General Services Administration (GSA).

Biden is continuing to move forward to ensure as seamless a transition as possible and his first step in this is to establish agency review teams that will manage the transition and begin crafting policies. The transition teams are being overseen by a Transition Advisory Board, which Biden named earlier in the year – a Board that includes two union Presidents: Teresa Romero of the United Farm Workers (UFW); and Lonnie Stephenson (pictured above with Biden) of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW).

Biden has also announced the members of these teams, which included a number of Union Officials:

Department of Labor - For Union Members the Labor Department is probably the most important agency within the Federal Government.  The team at the Department of Labor will be responsible for reviewing the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission, the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, the Federal Labor Relations Authority, the National Mediation Board, the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Services, the Railroad Retirement Board, and the National Labor Relations Board.

Signifying the Department’s importance, Biden appointed the most Union Officials in this Department including: Jennifer Abruzzo, former General Counsel to the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) and currently the Special Counsel for Strategic Initiatives with the Communications Workers of America (CWA); Jessica Chu, Chief of Staff and Special Counsel to the Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU); Michael Hazard, United Association’s (UA) Veterans in Piping Program Administrator; Nadia Marin-Molina, Executive Director of the National Day Laborer Organizing Network (NDLON), a group that organizes and helps Day Laborers, Migrant and low wage Workers; Shaun O’Brien, Assistant Director of the American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees’ (AFSCME) Research of Collective Bargaining Services Division; Patricia Smith, Senior Counsel for the Union affiliated National Employment Law Project (NELP) -before that Smith worked for President Obama as a Solicitor of Labor; and Lynn Rhineheart, Senior Fellow at the Economic Policy Institute (EPI) and the former General Counsel for the National AFL-CIO

Other people added to the committee include former Labor Department and OSHA Officials, as well as State Labor Department Officials.

The Department of Labor team is being run by Chris Lu, who was the former Deputy Secretary of Labor under President Barack Obama.

Union Officials were also appointed to 14 other review teams, showing the expanse reach of Unions and the immense knowledge that Union Leaders and Staffers bring.

Click here for a full list of Review Team Members.

To Directly Access This Labor News Story, Go To:


Leave a Comment