For An Annual Commitment Of Just $5 - Become An Individual Subscriber/Supporter Of
Subscriber Log In
Buffalo AFL-CIO Central Labor Council Denise Abbott,
Click Here for
Buffalo CLC Web Site
Niagara-Orleans AFL-CIO Central Labor Council Jim Briggs,
Click Here for
Niagara-Orleans CLC Web Site
Karen Butinski,
Click Here for Web Site
:"" Doug Stock,
Click Here for Web Site
David Wilkinson,
Click Here for Web Site

Recent News

More news >>

Union Leadership ‘Praises’ CWA Local 1133-Represented Kenmore Mercy Hospital’s Intensive Care Unit, Which Is Nationally Recognized For Patient Outcomes

Published Tuesday, June 11, 2019 3:00 pm
by Catholic Health News & Staff
Union Leadership ‘Praises’ CWA Local 1133-Represented Kenmore Mercy Hospital’s Intensive Care Unit, Which Is Nationally Recognized For Patient Outcomes

(KENMORE, NEW YORK) – Kenmore Mercy Hospital’s Intensive Care Unit (ICU), a member of the Catholic Health System, has earned the 2019 Silver Beacon Award for Excellence, presented by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) to recognize the Nation’s highest performing Hospital ICUs.

The Beacon Award for Excellence - which is a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and a healthy work environment, was created to recognize individual Nursing Care Units that distinguish themselves in the care of patients and their families. 

Kenmore Mercy was the first hospital in the Buffalo area to receive the Beacon Award in 2012, its third consecutive award.  Currently, only 54 hospitals in New York State have received this award, which is given to ICUs that consistently exhibit high quality standards, exceptional care of patients and families, and healthy work environments. 

“They are a ‘heck of a crew,’” Communications Workers of America (CWA) President Deb Arnet told of the 33 Members of Kenmore Mercy Hospital’s ICU Unit, which the Union currently represents.  “They’ve been ‘winning safety awards for years’ because they do ‘good’ work.  They have a ‘real team mentality there and ‘that gets better results.’”

The Critical Care Team is comprised of Physicians, Physician Assistants, Registered Nurses, Nursing Attendants, Patient Care Managers, Clinical Educators, Respiratory Therapists, Dieticians, Pharmacists, Physical Therapists, Chaplains, Clerks and Housekeeping.

“They ‘earned and deserved’ this award ‘for their hard work and dedication.’  ‘That’s part of their secret to success.’  ‘I and our Union are very proud of all their success,’ Arnet told Your On-Line Labor Newspaper.

CWA Local 1133 represents 350 Kenmore Mercy Hospital Employees and another 2,450 Workers employed at Catholic Health’s South Buffalo Mercy Hospital.

Registered Nurse (RN) Kristen Parisi, the Nurse Manager at Kenmore Mercy’s ICU, said: “We pride ourselves on delivering high-quality patient care outcomes, through essential Staff training and effective recruitment and retention of our Nurses.  Beacon represents collaboration of all Staff Members and providers who care for patients in the ICU.”

AACN President Lisa Riggs also applauded the commitment of Kenmore Mercy’s ICU Caregivers for working together to meet and exceed the high standards set forth by the Beacon Award for Excellence.

The AACN requires that national standards and benchmarks for quality and safety in the delivery of critical care medicine are met and exceeded for the Beacon Award to be granted.

Ventilator-associated pneumonia, hospital-acquired pressure ulcers, patient falls, blood culture contamination and catheter-related sepsis are just a few of the quality indicators the AACN reviews in evaluating a Critical Care Unit for a Beacon Award.

Patient outcomes in Kenmore Mercy’s ICU consistently exceed national benchmarks, Catholic Health System Officials said.

“The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes Caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes.  Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care,” Riggs said.

The three-year designation, presented in Bronze, Silver and Gold categories, recognizes ICUs that meet national criteria consistent with the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award, and Magnet Recognition - which Kenmore Mercy Hospital received in 2017.

To earn the distinction, Kenmore Mercy submitted a 50-page document that summarized progress made in the ICU in the past three years since it last received the Beacon Award.

“Recipients of the Beacon Award set the standard for excellence in health care,” said Registered Nurse (RN) Cheryl W. Hayes, who serves as Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer at Kenmore Mercy Hospital.

To Directly Access Catholic Health’s Press Release, Go To:


Leave a Comment