For An Annual Commitment Of Just $5 - Become An Individual Subscriber/Supporter Of
Subscriber Log In
WNY Next Up Western New York Next Up
Interim President Rick Bartolotta
Interim VP Andrew Glauser
Young Unionists Next Wave Young Lions

Recent News

More news >>

TPP UPDATE: Leaders From 12 Nations – Including The United States – Are Set To Sign The Trans-Pacific Partnership Trade Agreement On February 4th

Published Wednesday, January 6, 2016

From Flush the TPP: After those leaders sign the Trans-Pacific Partnership Trade (TPP) Agreement on February 4th, the TPP will still need to go through a process of approval in each participating country.  President Obama will send the TPP implementing legislation to Congress when he thinks he has enough votes to pass it.  Those who oppose the TPP and what it will bring about need to make sure that doesn’t happen.  Join the Nationwide Day of Action that will be held on February 4th.  You can click here for details.  To Directly Access This Labor News Story, Go to:


The 12 Nations that are party to the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Trade Agreement are scheduled to formally sign the agreement on February 4th in New Zealand.

Andres Rebolledo, who serves as Director General of Chile’s General International Economic Relations Bureau (DIRECON), confirmed the February 4th date in a recent meeting that was held with the country’s National Human Rights Institute to discuss how the agreement would affect Human Rights Issues in Chile.

“We are the only country that has agreements with the eleven other countries in the TPP and we secured important advantages in different areas that will allow us to stimulate trade relations with all our partners.  The most important thing is that we achieved an agreement that favors the country’s interests,” Rebolledo said in a statement released by DIRECON after the meeting.

Peru’s Trade and Tourism Ministry confirmed that Deputy Trade Minister Edgar Vasquez, the country’s TPP negotiator, will be on hand for the signing ceremony in New Zealand.

The signing will come four months after the 12 countries in the TPP concluded negotiations in the U.S. on October 5th: Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; Japan; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Peru; Singapore; the United States; and Vietnam.

“The signing will be a celebration, but the critical work comes after with the ratification process in national parliaments,” Gary Hufbauer of the Peterson Institute for International Economics told Bloomberg BNA in a telephone interview.

Peruvian President Ollanta Humala’s government hopes to submit the TPP for ratification to Peru’s 130-member legislature when it returns to work in March after a two-month recess.  The Humala government would like the agreement ratified by July 28th, when his five-year term end.  Humala is constitutionally banned from running for a consecutive term.  Peru will hold presidential elections on April 10th.  “The TPP is only good news for countries like Chile, Peru and Vietnam.  It is a good legacy issue for a president,” Hufbauer said.

Peruvian Trade Minister Magali Silva said in December that Peru expects to have the agreement ratified this year and would like to have it implemented by June 2017.

The TPP can come into force once it is ratified by at least six countries.  However, these countries must represent a minimum of 60% of the Gross Domestic Product of the 12 members.  In this scenario, either Japan or the U.S. would have to be among the original six to ratify.

Hufbauer said he expects the large economies in the TPP - Australia, Canada, Japan and Mexico - to wait and see what happens in the U.S.

President Barack Obama’s government would like to have the TPP ratified by July.

There is a chance, according to Hufbauer, that Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe could make a surprise move and take the lead on the agreement.  His party has a majority in the Diet and passage, while not ensured, could come along party lines.




Leave a Comment